Saturday, May 30, 2009

Order of the Trehean

This is an excerpt from a project I am working on. It is designed to work with Swords & Wizardry. It is inspired by 3rd edition's Sorcerer class but I feel the background is a better fit with tone of older editions than the dragon blood of the Sorcerers.

Wizards, Order of the Trehaen Magic-users may choose to start as members of the Order of the Trehaen. Members of the Order are known as Wizards.

• Wizards Gains 1D6-1 HP/level
• Cannot use any Armor/Shield, permitted to use dagger, staff, and darts.
• Can cast spells limited times as day without preparation. (see below)
• Can cast rituals equal to ½ highest level cast. (see below chart)
• At 11th level a Wizard can establish his own Circle and attract a group of fellow Wizards to follow him.

The Order of the Trehaen has the singular ability to cast spells without memorization. This results from their focus on a deep understanding of magic. The price is that the number of spells at their disposal is limited compared to the other Orders.

The Order of the Trehaen is the oldest order of magic still in existence. It traces its heritage to just after the Uttermost War. It tradition of magic was learned from the elves and has continued nearly unchanged for 8,000 years. It focus on deep study allow the Wizards to cast spells with no preparation or reliance on spell books.

The Order of Trehaen organizes themselves in Circles. A Circle is a loose fellowship of Wizards in a small region. Circles don’t generally maintain a central hall or building. Instead they will meet in secluded groves for a weekend long meeting to exchange stories and knowledge. Often various members of a Circle will specialize in one aspect of magic. When an issue arises involving that area of magic; the other Wizards of the Circle will consult with that specialist.

Wizards from 1st to 2nd level are considered Apprentices in the Order of Trehaen. When they successfully master their 2nd level spell they are now considered Evokers and encouraged to journey in order study with other wizards. When they mastered the 5th level spell (at 9th level) they are recognized as a full Wizard. Those who master 6th level spells are known as Seers. Finally those who reached the lofty heights of 7th level spells and higher are granted the title of High Seer.

In most regions this tradition has been supplanted by those taught by Magic-users An immortal elf would think nothing of taking the next century to relearn another spell. Shorter lived humans began to adapt the Trehaen tradition to allow a greater number of spells to be cast in an exchange for reliance on spellbooks and scrolls.


Spell Chart

I am sure some of you are wondering about the meaning of the ritual column more on that next post.

1 comment:

Lee B said...

Wait, aren't sorcerers supposed to cast more often with the "fewer spells" drawback? I see lower per-day numbers than the S&W standard. Unless there is a ritual for morphing into an iron golem, I'll risk having a wandering monster encounter before morning tea.